Astrology Explained in simple terms

Published: 20th December 2005
Views: N/A

Astrology is an ancient science that predates both astronomy and psychology.
Studied and used throughout the world for thousands of years, astrology is the study of the interactions among the stars and the planets, based on mathematical cycles.

The earliest known astrological records date back to Babylon, 1645 BC, and the earliest horoscope dates back to 410 BC.

During the Renaissance, when literacy became more widespread, almanacs began publishing astrological information for public consumption. Several notable figures of the era, including Galileo and Copernicus, were both practicing astrologers and founders of the modern scientific movement.

Despite the seemingly easy relationship between Astrology and science, astrology and various other arts fell by the wayside, as the Scientific Revolution surged. Many individuals still practiced the art, however, and Astrology enjoyed small revivals in England in the 1700s and 1800s.

Astrology became popular once again with the birth of Princess Margaret in 1930. The London Sunday Express ran an astrological profile of the princess to celebrate her birth and so began the modern newspaper horoscope column.

There is always more to learn when it comes to Astrology. The best place to start is grasping the key concepts behind astrology.

There are 10 planets in Astrology, beginning with the Sun and the Moon, which are also known as luminaries. The remaining planets are Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. The Planets are important in Astrology as they influence how we react in our everyday lives.

There are twelve houses of the Zodiac. Each different part deals with a different aspect of your life. The placement of the Planets and Signs in the various Houses further describes your astrological profile.

The birth chart is divided into four hemispheres, northern, southern, eastern and western; and four quadrants, the first, second, third and fourth. Each quadrant is then bound by two of the four angles of the horoscope.

The Aspects address the angular relationship between the plants and the points in the Zodiac. The Aspects are measured in degrees. The Zodiac is broken into twelve equal pieces, which are the Sun Signs. Orbs are used to calculate exact angular differences between planets. An orb is a set number of degrees within which a specific aspect is effective.

The Elements are also known as Triplicates and speak to the nature and temperament of a Sign. The four Elements and their Signs are Fire (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius), Earth (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn), Air (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) and Water (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces).

The Qualities address the manner of expression of a Sign. There are three Qualities, Cardinal Signs, Fixed Signs and Mutable Signs. Each quality has four Signs that each reflects the common modes of the Signs. Cardinal Signs are Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn - they are the initiators of the Zodiac. The Fixed Signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius - they dedicate themselves to seeing projects through to the end. The Mutable Signs are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces - they are the flexible members of the Zodiac.

SEO Solutions and one way link
publicity services provided by LinkAcquire.

David C Skul - CEO and Relativity, Inc. can provide
global market exposure and solutions

Video Source: Youtube

Report this article Ask About This Article

More to Explore